Terra’s Treasures Pier 7 Top

So you missed Bundle Up last week, don’t cry because the individual patterns are about to be released by the designers.  Due to a wee muddle up I ended up with an extra pattern the Pier 7 from Terra’s Treasures after the blog tour last week, so I got in touch with Terra to see if she wanted me to post a review prior to the individual release and clearly she said yes!

TT P7 front 4

Having had a shocker of a week full of an awful head cold it was nice to get out in the Autumn sunshine to take these photos (since it rained most of the week I was sick).

Having never made up one of Terra’s patterns before (though I must confess to a couple in the pattern stash, which will be made soon), I was really pleased with how easily the pattern went together and how clear the tutorial was.  Even better it covers a great range of sizes from 00-26.

TT P7 Back 1

One of the great features of the tutorial is the clear directions for doing both a Full Bust Adjustment (FBA) and a Small Bust Adjustment (SBA) as the pattern is drafted for a B cup.  I have only recently begun to regularly do an FBA when sewing for me and like a muslin it really just needs to be done so much of the fitting can be sorted before even making the muslin.  Doing this adjustment means not only will the pattern fit nicely across the bust it will fit well across the shoulders and neckline, something you just can’t get in RTW.

TT P7 Back 2

I did the shirring at the waistline rather than the other option of an elastic casing, and realised I need to practice it more on my new machine.  I had it down to a fine art on my Bernina but didn’t think to do a trial run on the Janome.  So while hitting the elastic with steam did shrink it somewhat, it was not as much as expected.

TT P7 detail

I love the pintucks, I thought that sweet detail was going to be lost in the pattern and colour of the fabric though in looking at the photos it actually shows up really well.  A lightweight fabric is definitely the way to go in this top, it feels soft, cool and comfortable, just perfect for hot and sticky Summer days.

TT P7 Front 3

 

I left off the sleeves since I will be laying this with a cardy as we are moving into Winter and bound them with bias binding, though if I make it without sleeves again I will probably extend the neck facing into a shaped facing.  I appreciated that the tutorial had you anchor the facing discretely in the pintucks.  It can be a little embarrassing if you have rushed out the door and not looked in a mirror only to find part of your facing was flipped out (please tell me I am not the only one this happens to).

The next version will be in a solid voile to make the pintucks pop even more.

Grab your copy of the pattern next week here.

Leave a Reply

