Sisboom Carolina Mae Test

I have been busy sewing this Summer but not getting around to blogging.  Just before Christmas a call went out in the Scientific Seamstress Lab Group on Facebook asking for a few more curvy testers to get their new Carolina Mae pattern just right.

I love Sisboom/Scientific Seamstress patterns, the Jamie was one of the first PDF patterns I ever made and it remains one of my favourites today.  If you want a pattern that fits, is well written and drafted in all sizes, has an amazing Facebook group and patterns for any member of your family; these are the ones you want to buy.  Men’s, Women’s and children’s patterns, from teeny tiny children all the way through to plus sized adults are all found here.  These are some of the best value patterns out there and the tutorials are fantastic.Front 5

So after that declaration of love you just know how thrilled I was to be called upon as a tester.

I was soon to find out the behind the scenes magic of just why these patterns are so amazing – THE PATTERN IS NOT RELEASE UNTIL THERE IS A GREAT FIT FOR EVERYONE!  That’s right, this pattern has been over 6 months in the works to ensure it is just right.  When the plus sizes were not meeting the desired standard Carla did not say close enough is good enough, she opened up a whole new test group focusing on these sizes in order to get the fit just right.  Of course there are big differences in an individuals body shape within the same size so there is great advice about fitting and choosing the right size in the pattern – a muslin is well worth the time and effort too and can make the difference in a item looking “Becky Home Eccy” to quote Michael Kors.

Back 1

This pattern has so many options, sleeves, ruching, length of skirt as well as varying necklines to suit all tastes and best of all no FBA required as the bodice caters for cup size!  The bodice fits beautifully, in fact I plan to use this bodice with a circle skirt and if I am really game (and find some inexpensive fabric) match it with the Mummy version of the Peppermint Swirl.  So you can see how making a muslin can provide you with an endless variety of of gorgeous dresses year round.

For future dresses one change I would make would be to press the bodice lining and stitch it separately to the skirt enclosing the gathers withing the seam.

Close up 2

I would rate this as an intermediate pattern however and adventurous confident beginner could tackle this as the pattern holds your hand the whole way, never done darts or a zipper no fear this pattern shows you how.

I love how this dress makes me feel, and the compliments I receive when I wear it so you can be sure I will make more.

Front 3

So now I have declared my adoration for Carolina Mae go and make one for yourself, you can find the pattern here and the oh so awesome Facebook group here.

2 thoughts on “Sisboom Carolina Mae Test

Leave a Reply

