Snow White Candy Castle Princess Dress

front side apple

I was working on this dress (Candy Castle Princess Dress) before our move.  A friend wanted to make a Snow White dress for her DD to wear to Disney on Ice in August so we thought we would do a bit of a sew-a-long. It was probably a little more chatting than sewing over the three evenings it took us to complete this, so I won’t have an accurate gauge of how long the pattern takes to complete.  That is until I make the Minnie Mouse Dress that the Gingerbear Princess will wear to the same show.

Of course we had to have an Apple photo shoot in the woods at Granny’s house, though I wish had taken a mirror too – and had the Captain dressed as the huntsman… carried away much :D.

However this was the easiest shoot we have done so maybe…

Apple bite 2

After making the Peppermint Swirl a few months ago the bodice came together fairly easily, as the construction is the same. The only major change I made was to leave off the sash.  Other smaller changes were additions I made to embelish as appropriate for Snow White, adding a cotton lace trim at the neckline and some yellow ric-rac down the bodice front. On the sleeves we added stripes of red ribbon after cutting out but before sewing up, and I just could not resist these sweet Mickey Mouse buttons I found at a local Emporium.

Back detail

back waking away

The dress comes in sizes 6 months to 10 years (I cut the 2) giving you princess dresses for years to come.

One small error I made on the Princess’ dress was not accounting for the lack of ruffle on the yellow skirt which caused the skirt to be a little shorter than I would have really liked for longevity. This was entirely my error as in missing out the ruffle meant the white underskirt looked too long so I pulled that up. As I did not do the ruffle I finished the curves with a rolled hem and where I hit the top of the curve I create a small button and lace flower embellishment to hide any ugliness.

Skirt detai

The pattern was really well written and my friend who had not sewn clothing in years and years felt she could have happily done it one her own (though sewing together is far more fun). Once again the well written instructions guided you step-by-step and the pattern pieces taped together with ease.

Side from above

What I love the most though is all the possibilities that there are using this pattern, alongside Snow and Minnie, I also have a Sophia the First cut out and ready to sew.

Looking up

Check out the Website and Facebook group for more inspiration, if you have a Princess lover in your house this is the dress for you.

Sunshine bite

2 thoughts on “Snow White Candy Castle Princess Dress

    • Thanks she loved going last year and often wears her Rapunzel dress so she is really looking forward to it. I was totally inspired by Kari’s Minnie Mouse and Sophia versions.

Leave a Reply

