Beachcomber Pinny From Little Kiwis Closet

Look what has just been released by Little Kiwis Closet.

Tree front looking down copy

As soon as I saw this dress in the LKC facebook group I squealed in delight, as you know the Gingerbear Princess has a thing for pockets so a giant pocket on a dress…

Front Driveway Smile copy

Once again I was fortunate enough to test for Lydia and again her pattern does not disappoint the instructions are well written and easy to follow and taping the patterns is so easy.

This, like LKC’s Rockstar Raglan, is a great way to use a small amount of really cute fabric – you know the ones you hoard because they are so gorgeous and you couldn’t bear to use them on just one item – and showcase it.

Details 1

I had a wee dilemma before I started I couldn’t choose my fabric, I started with the cotton duck I saw at spotlight and while looking for something to co-ordinate I found all these gorgeous combinations. I did say I had a stash, so of course several more are in the works.

2014-04-30 23.16.41 2014-04-30 23.18.552014-04-30 23.20.27 2014-04-30 23.19.56

One of the other testers added some piping to the dress and boy it made it pop!  Lydia has added this to her pattern and even provided a free tutorial (found here) on how to make your own co-ordinating bias and piping.

Tree side details copy

As soon as the Princess put this on her hands were in the pockets and in no time at all she was checking out which treasures would fit in there.

This pattern is made for wovens but can also work in a stable knit.  I made this tunic length using the last scrap of purple and black flock fabric from the up-cycle to make my first Rockstar Raglan modification.  The black used some scraps of black merino from my previous LKC test tops.  I know, I know, I push my scraps as far as they will go, hence having a large stash.

2014-05-04 22.48.55

This really is a fabulous pattern that comes in sizes 0-3 months – 12yrs, and can be made to suit every age and stage’s tastes through the choice of fabrics.  It is also a great year-round pattern that can be made with lighter quilting cottons or heavier denims, drills or even fleece, as well as being able to layered with a long sleeve or short sleeve tee or blouse.

Tree side details 2 copy

One thing to I would advise is if you wish to layer a top underneath is to look carefully at the chest measurement.  I made a size 2 for the Princess and it fits beautifully in these pictures, though given that we are going into the Winter months here my next dresses will be the size 3 to allow for layering and the ability to wear next Summer.

Back Driveway

I know this will become another staple and a go-to pattern for gifts, quick and easy but just that little bit different.

Join Lydia from Little Kiwis Closet on her Blog this Friday in a sew-a-long to make your own gorgeous Beachcomber.  There are three prizes up for grabs, so come and join us, and with $2 off the pattern price until Friday why wouldn’t you.

sewalong button words

Leave a Reply

