Everything Your Mama Made California Maxi Dress Test

I can now reveal the full dress from previous post’s sneak peek.

Driveway Front copy

This Easter I was lucky enough to be selected to test the new California Dress and Peplum pattern, from Everything your Mama Made, in the Maxi length, I chose to do the hi/low hem option in a poly knit from my stash.

Driveway back copy

Now that the Gingerbear Princess is getting bigger (read taller :D) I was happy to try a maxi length on her.  Previously I thought it would be a little overwhelming on her as well as having issues myself with maxi lengths always getting tangled under my feet (I am 5’3).  However the hi/low hem option means this didn’t ever become a problem, stairs are tackled with ease and it doesn’t overwhelm her at all.

Garage front 1 copy

One of the really neat things about this dress, other than the multiple length options is that when made without a hi/low hem it is reversible.  You can either have the scoop neck in the front or it faux halter.  If you had a preference for one neckline or the other it would easy enough to cut two scoop neck pieces and sew them together.

DSC_0098 Back detail copy

The pattern was really easy to follow with great step by step photographs, and it sews up really quickly. I had not used any of Kymy’s patterns previously but have been eyeing them up for some time.  After the ease of testing this pattern I have now, without hesitation, purchased the Kenzie’s Party Dress and the Dolman tops for all sizes.  I used one of Kymy’s bundle deals to save even more money on purchasing.

The Princess loved the dress and her first comment was that it was “so comfy”, and I must say it certainly looks it.  I can’t wait for the woman’s pattern to come out in due course, I can definitely see this becoming a summer staple.  The tested pattern comes in sizes 0-3months through to 18 Tween and with so many length options it would be easy to make several.

Garage Dress Back 1 copy

This pattern is being released this weekend as part of the Bundle Up pattern sale from Pattern Revolution check it out here.

It is so exciting to get picked to try out a new pattern and this is my third in just a couple of weeks.  I am loving pattern testing especially having a deadline as it forces me to use up some of my stash and get my A into G and finish an item.  Thanks Kymy for a great pattern.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Everything Your Mama Made California Maxi Dress Test

  1. Pingback: Frustrated! | The Adventures of Captain X and the Gingerbear Princess

  2. Pingback: EYMM Woman’s California Dress | The Adventures of Captain X and the Gingerbear Princess

  3. Pingback: Day 1 EYMM Zander Hoodie Blog Tour | The Adventures of Captain X and the Gingerbear Princess

Leave a Reply

