KCW Day 1 Ottobre singlets

Ok to be fair being the first item on my list for KCW actually had been started last week, they just needed the bindings sewn on and to be hemmed.  I thought it best to finish what I started first though. I did not get a chance to finish them over the weekend as The Boy was doing some electrical work in our dining area which means the cords for my machines are not longer a trip hazard.  Hurrah!

Singlet 2 copy

I made these Winter essentials in merino (naturally) using a free Ottobre Design pattern that is tried and true over the past three winters for me.  I have subscribed to the magazine again this year.  While it isn’t cheap the number of patterns and sizes you get in a magazine is good value for money and being European the designs offer something different than the standard fare.Singlet 1

I made two for the Captain and three for the Princess.  The Captain will also be getting some blue long-sleeve merino tops to wear under his polo shirt for school as their uniform only offers short-sleeves with a sweatshirt.  He was really excited to try this on, promptly declared it perfect and wore it the rest of the afternoon.

This grey merino though was a Trade Me (E-Bay) bargain I got last year, a big box of designers samples from Workshop, Stolen Girlfriends Club and more, the cost of the box was worth it alone for the 5m of this soft light fabric.  I intend to make a top or two for myself from it too.

I prefer merino for it’s ability to wick moisture away from the body, it’s wearability, washability and general comfort level for the wearer.  It is a wonderfully strong natural fibre produced right here in NZ and I am lucky enough to live reasonably close to a great mill outlet store for Designer Textiles called The Fabric Shop Factory Outlet.

Singlet 3 copy

I am also doing some pattern testing for a local designer.  It is super cute and I can’t wait to share once I am allowed.

 

One thought on “KCW Day 1 Ottobre singlets

  1. Pingback: Ottobre Design Magazine Summer 3/2014 | The Adventures of Captain X and the Gingerbear Princess

Leave a Reply

